“Feel the Steel”

steel-panther Yeah, the title of Steel Panther’s first album totally sounds like part of a “that’s what she said” joke. When my students initially introduced me to the band, my first thought was, “these guys are totally gay.”

Then I saw the Youtube video for “Death to all but Metal” (warning–not safe for work or decent company).  These guys have made a career making fun of the big hair bands of the 80s, and I find that hilarious.  My only complaint is that they do so with more vulgarity than necessary (f-bombs and over-the-top sexual innuendo).

I was in a band once.   We called ourselves “Porcelain Skunk”, and our 80s power ballad was called “Sprayed by Love”.  Oh, the good old days…

Leave a Reply

